The answer to deep-reaching challenges in tunnelling.

We are the special force
for your complex tunnel project.
Dependable, human, solutions oriented.

A dependable partner
at your side

The necessity of creating underground space for a great variety of purposes has become a steadily more and more attractive concept over the decades. The future of mobility and infrastructure is increasingly under the ground surface. ATE is a special force of Austrian specialists with over 35 years of accumulated expert experience in tunnelling throughout the whole world. We respond to every highly complex geological task with assurance and expertise.

This is why we are
internationally the best

We find efficient solutions

The construction of every tunnel presents multi-layered challenges. The allure of the unknown is out motivation to develop solutions that work. The focus is always efficiency and the foundation of our work an innovative spirit.

We create new living space

The world’s population is growing and, with it, the need for efficient concepts. For example, we move traffic underground, open up new paths, create more convenient connections and, as a result, create more useful living space und increase quality of life.

We create the infrastructure of the future

Tunnel construction is not only key for the demands of constantly increasing traffic. It is also essential for other infrastructure needs. Careful planning can save CO2. We are committed to sustainable processes, saving energy, and protecting our environment.

Facts and figures

2

Companies

Laabmayr and IGT: When two Austrian tunnelling experts join forces, they create something special – ATE. Inspired by the coming challenges in the near future, our teamwork allows us to create sustainable infrastructure in the sphere of this awesome work of nature – the ground.

100%

Dependability

We are your 100% dependable partner and bring every project to a successful conclusion. We have a culture of excellent service and the confidence to make decisions even in the most challenging of situations.

160

Team members

The best engineers in world and long-serving members of our staff are the reason ATE enjoys an excellent international reputation.

3000+

Successful projects

If it’s a project with special challenges, then it’s a job for ATE. A plethora of successfully completed projects are the best proof of our effective working methods.

1000 km

Over

tunnel designed

500 km

Over

tunnel construction supervised

€ 2 Bill.

Up to

construction volume

€ 1 Mill.

Up to

contract volume

€ 25 Bill.

Up to

construction volume designed

€ 12.5 Bill.

Up to

construction volume supervised

We provide the solutions for unconventional construction projects.

No project is too big, none too challenging. ATE is your specialist and partner for particularly complex tasks. We are at your side with stamina and high-quality service through to the realisation of your project.

Our services

Experience and methods
in practice

A tunnel is a highly complex structure. Part of the challenge are the geological conditions and the need to estimate their implications accurately. A daunting task requiring design competence and high performance to make the impossible possible. In every discipline (geology, geotechnics, design, engineering…) we engage perfectly trained technical specialists – an indispensable partner at your side.

Tunnel design has been our core profession for more than 35 years. An all-round perspective allows us to provide perfect project implementation.
From beginning to end.

We are aware of the responsibility we carry and guarantee highest quality engineering, delivery to deadlines, cost efficiency and fairness – in all our services:

  • Project design
  • Tunnel Design
  • Geotechnical design
  • Structural design
  • Hydraulic design
  • Consulting
  • Site supervision
  • Geotechnical Supervision
  • Tunnel Inspections
  • Tunnel Software

Special
solutions

Special force
ATE: For challenges
that go deeper

In tunnelling, projects with special challenges are common. Large projects in particular are not always straightforward. It is precisely the complexity of these projects that drives our curiosity and determination to find a solution, even if needed only for a short section or the final metres of a tunnel. Our projects rely on NATM, a technique to whose development and optimisation we are a major contributor.

We are a special force in tunnelling. IGT and Laabmayr join to form an unbeatable team. Below is a sample of our projects..

Projects

Site supervisionSemmering Base Tunnel, Austria

Under two hours by train from Vienna to Graz, thanks to the Semmering Base Tunnel, the heart of the Südbahn upgrade in Austria.

View project

Vienna Metro lot U2-17, Austria

Lot U2-17 comprises the extension of Metro link U2 from the Altes Rathaus station to Matzleinsdorferplatz.

View project

New build railway Wendlingen-Ulm,Tunnel Albaustieg, Germany

The Albaufstieg section is the central component of the 59.6km-long Deutsche Bahn (DB – Germany Railways) new build railway between Wendlingen and Ulm. The route passes the entire length of the mountain range Schwäbische Alb on its northwest-southeast alignment from Wendlingen near Stuttgart to Ulm.

View project

Sydney Metro,Australia

IGT undertook design of the excavation and support measures and secondary lining of a crossover cavern. The structure is located in sandstone and was constructed from around the centre of the cavern outwards using a temporary crosscut located in the Luna Park Fault Zone.

View project

Crossrail, London, United Kingdom Lots C300, C410 & C435

With a length of around 120 km, Crossrail will link the eastern and western extents of Greater London. The heart of the new railway project is the tunnelled section. Twin-bore tunnels with a length of 21 km cross the centre of London.

View project

Istanbul Strait Road Tube Crossing Bosporus Tunnel, Turkey

Istanbul is a metropolis of several million inhabitants, where space is at a premium. the Eurasia Tunnel links the Asian and European sides of Istanbul with a double-decker tunnel under the Bosporus.

View project

Site supervision and coordination Tunnel chain St. Kanzian, Austria

IGT undertook site supervision on behalf of ÖBB Infrastruktur (Austrian Federal Railways Infrastructure). The St. Kanzian chain of tunnels includes a 620m-long cut-and-cover tunnel in Srejach, a 665m-long mined tunnel in Untersammelsdorf and the 230m-long open-cut Paratschitzen Tunnel.

View project

S10 Mühlviertler express road, Austria Tunnel Götschka

The S10 Mühlviertler express road project includes a 22km-lon new build section in Upper Austria between the end of the A7 motorway and Freistadt. The new section includes four tunnels, four cuttings and numerous further structures.

View project

A11 Karawanken Tunnel, second bore, Austria-Slovenia border

The western bore of the Karawanken Tunnel was opened for two-way traffic in 1991 and is managed jointly by the Austrian (ASFINAG) and Slovenian (DARS) highway agencies. the existing bore is 7870 m long and has no emergency escapes.

View project

Ongoing detail designE05 Korsvägen, NATM design Liseberg Tunnel, Göteborg, Sweden

The project section E05 Korsvägen is part of the railway project Västlänken in the centre of Göteborg, Sweden. E05 Korsvägen includes mined, open-cut and cut-and-cover tunnels, a station a dive structure at Almedal, and a crossing under the Mölndalsån river.

View project

Emergency escape and services tunnel design Schmitten Tunnel

The Schmitten Tunnel was built between 1992 and 1995 according to the guidelines and standards for road tunnels (RVS) of the time. It was opened to two-directional, single carriageway traffic on 27th June 1996. Components of the safety equipment must be brought up to modern standards after 23 years of continual operation.

View project

Feasibility study Research station Schneefernerhaus – Zugspitze

The Schneefernerhaus is a former hotel 2650 m above sea level and has been used as a climate monitoring station since 1999. The feasibility study was undertaken to find underground solutions for an additional research station at the watershed above the existing Schneefernerhaus. Access to the construction site was by means of the existing rack-and-pinion railway. The research station was to continue operation during construction.

View project

We go the extra mile.

We have over 35 years of amassed tunnelling experience and at the same time use our spirit of innovation in the present day to realise complex tunnelling projects in the future.

Austrian-Tunnel-Engineers-header

Die Antwort auf
tiefgehende Herausforderungen im Tunnelbau.

Wir sind die Special Force
für Ihr komplexes Tunnelprojekt.
Verlässlich, menschlich, lösungsorientiert.

Der verlässliche Partner
an Ihrer Seite

Die Notwendigkeit „unterirdisch“ Raum für viele Zwecke zu schaffen ist ein Konzept, das seit Jahrzehnten laufend an Attraktivität gewinnt. Die Zukunft der Mobilität und Infrastruktur findet zunehmend auch unter der Erde statt. ATE ist eine Special Force aus österreichischen Spezialisten mit über 35 Jahren kumulierter Expertenerfahrung im Tunnelbau auf der ganzen Welt. Wir zeigen in jeder hoch komplexen geologischen Aufgabenstellung Mut und Expertise.

Das macht uns zu
den Besten international

ate-formation-move

Wir finden effiziente Lösungen

Der Bau eines jeden Tunnels bringt vielschichtige Herausforderungen mit sich. Der Reiz des Unbekannten ist unser Motivator Lösungen zu entwickeln, die funktionieren. Stets mit Blick auf Effizienz und mit innovativem Zeitgeist als Fundament unserer Überlegungen.

ate-formation-move

Wir schaffen neuen Lebensraum

Die Weltbevölkerung wächst und damit auch die Notwendigkeit, effiziente Konzepte zu schaffen. Wir verlagern den Verkehr bspw. unter die Erde, erschließen neue Wege, verbinden komfortabler und schaffen dadurch mehr nutzbaren Lebensraum und steigern so die Lebensqualität.

ate-formation-move

Wir sorgen für die Infrastrukturen der Zukunft

Der Tunnelbau ist nicht nur für die Anforderungen an den ständig wachsenden Verkehr lebenswichtig, sondern auch für infrastrukturelle Notwendigkeiten. Durch überlegte Methoden kann viel CO2 eingespart werden. Wir setzen hier auf nachhaltige Prozesse, die Energie sparen und die Umwelt schonen.

Zahlen, Daten,
Fakten

2

Unternehmen

Laabmayr und IGT: Wenn zwei österreichische Tunnelexperten eine Spezial-Einheit bilden, entsteht Großes – die ATE. Inspiriert durch die Herausforderungen in naher Zukunft, schaffen wir im Zusammenschluss nachhaltige Infrastrukturen im Wirkungsbereich der geologisch komplexen Naturgewalt Gestein.

100%

Zuverlässigkeit

Wir sind zu 100% Ihr verlässlicher Partner und bringen jedes Projekt erfolgreich ins Ziel. Dabei pflegen wir eine hohe Servicekultur und haben den Mut auch in den herausforderndsten Situationen Entscheidungen zu treffen.

160

Mitarbeiter

Die besten Ingenieure der Welt sowie langjährige MitarbeiterInnen sind maßgeblich dafür verantwortlich, dass ein Unternehmen wie die ATE international anerkannt ist.

3000+

erfolgreiche Projekte

Wenn es um Projekte mit speziellen Anforderungen geht, kommt die ATE zum Zug. Eine Vielzahl erfolgreich umgesetzter Projekte sind der beste Beweis für unsere effektive Arbeitsweise.

1000 km

Über

Tunnellänge geplant

500 km

Über

Tunnellänge beaufsichtigt

€ 2 Bill.

Bis zu

Construction Volume

€ 1 Mio.

Bis zu

Contract Volume

€ 25 Mrd.

Bis zu

Tunnelkosten geplant

€ 12,5 Mrd.

Bis zu

Tunnelkosten beaufsichtigt

Wir lösen unkonventionelle Bauvorhaben.

Kein Projekt ist zu groß, keines zu herausfordernd. Die ATE ist bei besonders komplexen Aufgabenstellungen Ihr Spezialist und Partner. Wir stehen Ihnen mit Ausdauer und hoher Serviceorientierung bis zur erfolgreichen Projektrealisierung zur Seite.

austrian-tunnel-engineers-fachbereich-03_SW

Unser Service-
Angebot

Erfahrung und Methodik
im Einsatz

Ein Tunnel ist ein höchst komplexes Bauwerk. Die Schwierigkeit besteht u.a. darin, die geologische Beschaffenheit und damit verbundene Einflussfaktoren richtig einzuschätzen. Eine oft scheinbar unlösbare Aufgabe, welche planerische Kompetenz und Höchstleistung verlangt, um am Ende das Unmögliche doch möglich zu machen. Wir beschäftigen für jede Teildisziplin (Geologie, Geotechnik, Design, Engineering…) perfekt ausgebildete Fachkräfte – als unverzichtbare Partner an Ihrer Seite.

Tunnelplanung ist seit mehr als 35 Jahren unsere Kernprofession. Und unsere Leidenschaft. Mit 360 Grad Blick stehen wir für perfekte Projektbetreuung und Umsetzung.
Von Anfang bis zum Ende.

Wir sind uns unserer Verantwortung bewusst und garantieren Ingenieurleistung in Spitzenqualität bei Termintreue, Kosteneffizienz und Fairness – in allen Ebenen unserer Serviceleistungen:

  • Project design
  • Tunnel Design
  • Geotechnical design
  • Structural design
  • Hydraulic design
  • Consulting
  • Site supervision
  • Geotechnical Supervision
  • Tunnel Inspections
  • Tunnel Software
austrian-tunnel-engineers-csm_20200724_Fildertunnel_D850N-234_6bc09b3fff_SW

Spezial
Lösungen

Special Force
ATE: Bei Heraus­forderungen,
die tiefer gehen

Im Tunnelbau kann es schon mal vorkommen, dass ein Projekt spezielle Herausforderungen mit sich bringt. Besonders die technische Umsetzung von Großprojekten ist nicht immer ganz einfach. Aber genau die Komplexität dieser besonderen Projekte weckt unsere Neugierde so lange zu tüfteln bis auch dafür eine Lösung gefunden ist. Und wenn es auch nur einen Teilabschnitt oder die letzten Meter eines Tunnels betrifft. In unseren Projekten setzen wir auf die NATM, an dessen Entwicklung und Optimierung wir als ATE auch maßgeblich beteiligt sind.

Wir sind die Special Force im Tunnelbau. Die IGT und die Firma Laabmayr entwickeln gemeinsam als ATE eine unschlagbare Kraft. Machen Sie sich selbst ein Bild von unseren Projekten.

Zu den Projekten

austrian-tunnel-engineers-projekte-laabmayr-semmering-SBT11_Schacht

Örtliche Bauaufsicht Semmering Basistunnel

In unter zwei Stunden mit dem Zug von Wien nach Graz dank Semmering-Basistunnel.
Das Kernstück des Ausbaus der Südbahn ist der Semmering Basistunnel.

Zum Projekt

ate-oesterreich

Bauabschnitt U2-17 Wiener Linien

Das Baulos U2-17 stellt die Verlängerung der U-Bahn Linie U2 von der Station „Altes Rathaus“ bis zum Matzleinsdorferplatz dar.

Zum Projekt

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Neubaustrecke Wendlingen-Ulm Tunnel Albaustieg

Der Bauabschnitt Albaufstieg ist der zentrale Teil der 59,6 km langen DB ‐ Neubaustrecke von Wendlingen nach Ulm. Zwischen dem Ausgangspunkt Wendlingen nahe Stuttgart und dem Ziel Ulm quert die von Nord‐West nach Süd‐Ost verlaufende Trasse den gesamten Gebirgszug der Schwäbischen Alb.

Zum Projekt

ate-australien

Metro Sydney Australien

IGT hat die Planung für die Vortriebssicherung sowie Innenschale der Kaverne durchgeführt. Das Bauwerk befindet sich in Sandstein. Die Kaverne wurde von einem Zwischenangriff errichtet, wofür eine temporäre Querkaverne in einer Störungszone (Luna Park Fault Zone) geplant und gebaut wurde.

Zum Projekt

austrian-tunnel-engineers-projekte-igt-crossrail-2251-000-25

Crossrail London Baulos C300/ 410/ 435

Crossrail wird mit einer Länge von ungefähr 120 km den Großraum London von Ost nach West verbinden. Das Kernstück der neuen Eisenbahnlinie ist der Crossrail Tunnel. Zwei eingleisige Tunnelröhren mit einer Länge von 21 km verlaufen quer durch das Zentrum von London.

Zum Projekt

austrian-tunnel-engineers-projekte-igt-bosporus-2230-000-00

Istanbul Strait Road Tube Crossing Bospurustunnel

Istanbul ist eine Millionenmetropole, wo Platz ein wertvolles Gut ist. Der Eurasia Tunnel verbindet die asiatische und europäische Seite von Istanbul als Doppelstocktunnel unter dem Bosporus.

Zum Projekt

austrian-tunnel-engineers-projekte-gem-kanzian-2294-000-08

Örtliche Bauaufsicht und Koordination Tunnelkette St. Kanzian

Im Auftrag der ÖBB Infrastruktur AG übernahm die IGT die örtliche Bauaufsicht: Zur Tunnelkette St. Kanzian gehören der 620 m lange Tunnel in Srejach (Deckelbauweise), der 665 m lange Tunnel in Untersammelsdorf (geschlossene Bauweise) und der 230 m lange Grüntunnel Paratschitzen (offene Bauweise).

Zum Projekt

austrian-tunnel-engineers-projekte-gem-goetschka-DSC_0189

Neubau S10 Mühlviertler Schnellstraße Tunnel Götschka

Das Projekt S10 Mühlviertler Schnellstraße umfasst eine 22 km lange Neubaustrecke und führt in Oberösterreich vom Autobahnende der A7 Mühlkreis Autobahn nach Freistadt. Vier Tunnelanlagen, vier Unterflurstrecken und zahlreiche weitere Kunstbauten wurden auf diesem Abschnitt realisiert.

Zum Projekt

austrian-tunnel-engineers-projekte-gem-kar-tunnelscanner

Neubau 2. Röhre A11 Karawankentunnel

Die Weströhre des Karawankentunnels wurde 1991 eröffnet und wird seither von der ASFINAG gemeinsam mit dem slowenischen Autobahnbetreiber DARS im Gegenverkehr betrieben. Die Bestandsröhre weist eine Länge von rd. 7870m auf. Der Karawankentunnel verfügt derzeit über keine Fluchtwege.

Zum Projekt

ate-schweden

Laufende Ausführungsplanung E05 Korsvägen, NATM Design Liseberg Tunnel

Der Projektabschnitt E05 Korsvägen ist ein Teil des Eisenbahnprojektes Västlänken im Zentrum von Göteborg. E05 Korsvägen umfasst bergmännisch aufzufahrende Tunnelbauwerke, Tunnel in offener Bauweise bzw. in Deckelbauweise, ein Stationsbauwerk, einen Tunnel- und Rampenabschnitt bei Almedal und eine Unterführung unterhalb des Mölndalsån.

Zum Projekt

ate-oesterreich

Flucht- und Rettungstunnelplanung Schmittentunnel

Der Schmittentunnel wurde in den Jahren 1992 bis 1996 entsprechend den damals geltenden Richtlinien und Vorschriften für das Straßenwesen (RVS) errichtet und am 27.6.1996 für den KFZ-Verkehr im Gegenverkehrsbetrieb freigegeben. Teile der Sicherheitseinrichtungen müssen nach mehr als 23 Jahren Dauerbetrieb auf den neuesten Stand gebracht werden.

Zum Projekt

austrian-tunnel-engineers-projekte-ate-ansichtforschungsstation

Machbarkeitsstudie Forschungsstation Schneefernerhaus – Zugspitze

Das Schneefernerhaus ist ein ehemaliges Hotel auf 2650 m Höhe, das seit 1999 als Umweltstation genutzt wird. In der Machbarkeitsstudie der ATE galt es unterirdische Lösungen für die Erschließung einer weiteren Forschungsstation in der Kammlage oberhalb des bestehenden Schneefernerhauses zu finden.

Zum Projekt

Wir gehen die Extrameile.

Wir blicken auf mehr als 35 Jahre kumulierte Tunnelbau-Erfahrung zurück und gleichzeitig nutzen wir den Innovationsgeist der Gegenwart für die Realisierung komplexer Tunnel-Projekte der Zukunft.

austrian-tunnel-engineers-fachbereich-03_SW